Seeing the World

At 0300 (that‘s 3 am for you non-military folk), I climbed aboard a bus, armed with the bag of snacks recently procured at the shoppette, my iPhone, and various and sundry other photo taking goodies.  The plan was to sleep on the bus, but that didn’t happen. I made up for the lack of sleep on the return trip when we were stuck in a Stau on the Autobahn for 3 hours. But, back to the start of the trip.  We made a pit stop for breakfast at about 0645, and it was nice to hear we only had about an hour and a half left until we got to Munich.  I had a croissant with Nutella and some orange juice and wandered around for any photo taking opportunities that might present themselves.

Finally arrived in Munich, and made a quick stop at Nymphenberg Palace. This place was gigantic, and gorgeous, and they gave us 9 minutes to take photos. Yes, 9 minutes. I think I managed to get some good shots for being rushed.  The weather wasn’t that great either so light was not on my side.

To be honest, I was a little disappointed with the Munich portion of the trip.  Not because of Munich, which is beautiful, but because we spent most of it on the bus trying to see the sights through the windows while the tour guide talked.  I figured I could use this as a scouting mission and if they let us off the bus, go back to take photos rather than waste my iPhone battery shooting blurry window shots. They eventually did let us off the bus, but we didn’t really get to go back to any of the sites I wanted to see, and our time was limited. There is so much architecture and bustle of people in this city.  I would love to go back on my own.  We did get to wander through the Viktrolian market and eat lunch at a Bavarian restaurant.

The Dachau portion of the trip, which was really my key reason for wanting to go, was..wow..is about all I can say.  It was awe-inspiring to be in a place of so much history, so much tragedy, so much sorrow.  It doesn’t look much, if anything, like it did during the war.  That’s probably a good thing. We started off with an introductory movie and then were left to wander by ourselves. The main portion of the site is open, and is what once used to be the Roll Call area.  There is a path, lined by trees, that leads down Camp Road. This is where the barracks used to be, and each one has a plot with a numbered marker.  Only two barracks stand and these were both reconstructed and serve as part of the museum.  The majority of the back part of the camp are memorial sites. There is a Jewish memorial, the Carmelite Convent, Catholic Mortal Agony of Christ Chapel, Protestant Church of Reconciliation, and the Russian Orthodox Chapel.  I was actually moved to tears at one point.  There were certain areas where it was like a wave of sadness and despair would wash over me.  I highly suggest if you ever get a chance to go to Europe to visit.

For more information about the Dachau Memorial Site visit: http://www.kz-gedenkstaette-dachau.de/index-e.html

All of the photos shared in this post were shot with Hipstamatic for iPhone.

And for those interested in seeing more of my photos, visit my JMP Photography’s Facebook page.

Have an awesome day/night everyone!

Leave a Reply

