New York State of Mind

I’m pretty excited right now.  Why?  Because I’m going on leave starting next Saturday.  This will be the first time I’ve been back to New York in 3 years, the first time the baby has been to New York, and the first time my sister has seen him since he was a newborn. This will also be the first time I get to meet my little niece, Leah. As long as we can catch a Space-A flght out of Ramstein, we should be golden.  It will be nice to have some time with just Joseph, and some time away from the husband. He and I aren’t on very good terms right now.

What I’m not exicted about?  Spending 9 hours on an airplane with a 2-year-old.  Yikes.  I’ve been trying to think of things to take/do to keep him occupied.  I have the iPad, the laptop, the iPod and his Elmo headphones, as well as some coloring books and movies.  Hopefully that will be enough to keep him from driving the other passengers insane.

Oh, not to brag, but my kid is a frickin’ genius. Well, maybe not genius, but he is pretty smart.  I was picking him up from school the other day and as I come around the corner I hear them say, “Awesome job, Joseph, great!”  They held up their hands and tried to stop me as I walked into the room, they didn’t want me to disturb him.  They were tracing lines.  My big boy traced his all by himself, with no help from the teacher.  They said his hand-eye coordination is great, and they expect him to be able to start writing his name soon. I have noticed sometimes when he colors, he makes these tiny little circles and repeats “Ooey! Ooey!” (that’s Joey in toddler speak). Proud mama moment!  I am amazed every day just how much my little guy is turning into a big boy.  Now, if we could only get the potty training thing down.

Song title for the week is “New York State of Mind” by Billy Joel

Photo shot with Canon Rebel Xsi & 50mm/f1.8 lens.  Edit in PSE11 using MCP Actions.

 

One thought on “New York State of Mind

  1. How exciting! We will have to get together once you are back in New York. We should have our families all go out to eat or something. I can’t wait to see Kira and Joey together since they are the same age. How long are you staying up here?

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

