Live like you were dying

Once again, it has been way too long between posts.  Once again, I use the excuse “oh I’ve been so busy.”  That’s true, but not really an excuse.  I did go on leave to New York last month with the baby and we had a good time.  I came back to the chaos of work and was eager to leave it behind again.  That’s not really the reason that brought me back and made me feel compelled to hang around the office to filch off the free wifi.  I wish the thing that struck a chord with me tonight wasn’t so somber.

Yes, I want to talk about the shootings in Newtown, CT.  Before I really get down to what I really want to say, the message I really want to hit home on, I’m going to be political for just a minute.  I believe in the right to bear arms.  I believe people have the right to keep a weapon in their home for protection, or sport.  Obviously, I do not think it’s right for people to create the kind of carnage the nation has seen with the shootings at Columbine, Virginia Tech, Newtown, the theater shootings in Colorado, and the recent shooting at a shopping center.  Yeah, pretty long list..and that’s just to name a few.  I do not agree that banning guns will change things.  I believe someone hell bent on creating chaos will create the chaos whether the guns are purchased legally or not.   It’s been reported that the weapons involved with the Newtown shooting were purchased legally by the shooter’s mother, who became a victim herself. If it’s not with a gun, it will be with something else.  Oklahoma City bombing, September 11th…chaos, massive casualties, no guns involved. That’s all I want to say about the politics side of things.

I spent the majority of the day following asking myself..”why?” I don’t understand why a human being would do something like this to another human being, let alone 20 innocent little children.  I ran the gambit of emotions, anger, sadness, shock…then I looked at my own child.  That’s when it hit me.  It hit me just how precious every second is.  How fragile life is.  How much I..no, how much society as a whole take these minutes forgranted.  We take the people in our lives forgranted.  I think many times we get into this mindset of “oh, they will always be there.”  Especially when it comes to our children.  It’s very, very sad that it takes such a horrible tragedy to wake us up.

I will close with a few final words and  “This week in pictures.”  Hug your children, hug your spouses, hug the people close to you.  Think about the minutes you take forgranted.  Treat them like they could be the last.  Most of all, as the pain and grief from this recent tragedy begin to subside..don’t let that be a means of complacency.  Don’t fall back into the old routine of “they will always be there.”  Keep hugging your kids and your spouses and those close to you like it could be the last chance you get.  Try and yell a little less, laugh a little more, hug tighter, and maybe..just maybe that compassion will spread and we can stop having conversations about these senseless tragedies.

Song title: “Live Like You Were Dying” by Tim McGraw

This week in photos..the things that matter. My husband and son, making playdough at Joseph’s school, and being outside.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

