It’s my party…and I’ll cry if I want to

Joseph will be 4 on the 31st of this month. It seems like only yesterday I was at the hospital insisting I was in labor and was having a baby that day. The doctors seemed to think differently, telling me I could go on like this for days (OMG I wanted to stab someone in the face!) and prepped me to be discharged. I guess I showed them when I had a baby about 6 hours later.

Anyways, the point of this post is not my birth story, but rather about child birthday parties. I kind of feel like a shitty parent because my kid has never had a big shindig, with the exception of the first birthday. That’s pretty much a given. I always admire these seemingly elaborate soirees with coordinating decor and themes and just..wow. Is my kid missing out? I know for his 1st birthday we had a huge BBQ at the house, and while it was nice to have people to enjoy the special day, I spent most of it cooking food and running things up and down three flights of stairs. We had way too much food leftover and spent the next lord knows how long trying to save the leftovers from going to waste. That and Joseph didn’t care. He didn’t know what in the holy hell was going on. All he wanted to do was ride his little push car and stuff his face. I didn’t really get to socialize with anyone who showed up, which made me feel like a jackass.

Subsequent birthdays have been much more low-key. We had close family friends for dinner, opened presents and ate cake for the 2nd. Third birthday we made Captain America cupcakes for pre-school and a cookie cake at home, just the three of us. I’m sure things will be different when we go back to the states and are closer to family.

Do you go all out for birthdays, keep it low-key at home, or go out someplace where all you have to bring is a cake and gifts and someone else cooks the food and cleans up the mess? What age did your kids start asking for kid parties and wanting to invite friends? Share how you celebrate your kiddo’s special day.

-Danielle

Song Title: “It’s My Party” by Leslie Gore

Leave a Reply

